Google introduces new tools to combat privacy concerns with location data

2

Our lives today without Google’s location-based services is almost unimaginable. Be it looking for the shortest route to a destination or discovering the best restaurants nearby, Google remains the answer.

However, amid the convenience, the privacy concerns related to sharing the location, have always been plaguing the users. Google is not unaware of these concerns. It has been continuously in News for these concerns in some way or other, and now it is coming up with another interesting solution.

Get that location data deleted 

As an answer to the security & privacy concerns related to users’ location-data, Google is introducing new controls. It is bringing in ‘auto-delete controls for Location History and activity data.’ Using this feature, users can have total control over their shared location data and can get it automatically deleted from their account when they wish to.

How will it work?

This is how the control will work:

Google
Google Auto-Control for Location History and Web & App Activity

Till now users were able to use their Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web & App Activity, and choose to delete all or part of the location data, manually. Auto-delete controls will enable the users to choose a time limit for how long they want their activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months. Once enabled, any data older than the specified time-limit will get  automatically deleted from the account. This will bring in ease and lesser worry as it is difficult to always remember to delete the location data on our own.

Google’s auto-delete control could be the route to a safer user experience in times to come.